Act on the Issues

Ongoing Actions on the Issues

CLIMATE CHANGE

Join our Climate Action Team

The team meets monthly and comes up with great ideas and actions to increase renewable energy at the local and state level. Contact Camilla Feibelman for more information and to join the Climate Action team at camilla.feibelman@sierraclub.org

Join our Go Solar Now NM Team

Please visit www.GoSolarNowNM.info to learn more about solar, and contact Sandrine Gaillard at sandrine.sierraclub@gmail.com with your solar questions, or to help promote solar.

Join our Zero Waste Team

Please contact co-­chairs Joe Eigner at joseigner@gmail.comor Karen Sweeney at ksweeney99@comcast.net with questions or to join our Zero Waste team.

WATER

Join our Water Action Team

The Water Action Team works on our priority water issues and strategize on legislative and regulatory issues. Contact John Buchser, Water Team chair, at jbuchser@comcast.net to find out more and to join the team.

Fight dairy contamination

If you’re in streams in Southern New Mexico, contact Eric Patterson at eepatt@gmail.com or 575­.776.­2833

Become a Water Sentinel

If you live in Northern New Mexico and would like to become a Water Sentinel and monitor streams for contamination, contact Eric at eepatt@gmail.com or 575­.776.­2833

Protect the Gila

If you would like to help protect the Gila Contact Allyson Siwik, Gila Resources Information Project, at allysonsiwik@gmail.com or 575­.590­.7619

LAND

mountains-400Join the Bosque Action Team

Come to the monthly meetings and help strategize about how we can preserve and protect the Bosque. Contact Richard Barish at richard.barish@gmail.com to learn more and get involved.

Become a Bosque Sentinel

To help protect what makes our Bosque so special, we’re forming a Bosque Sentinels Program. If you are interested, you can select a part of the Bosque that you’d like to monitor. You’ll get to know the terrain and be able to report to Open Space if there are litter, fire or vandalism problems. You’ll get to know the different projects that the Army Corps of Engineers, Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District or the city are carrying out and be able to interpret those projects to other users. You also might become a trained outings leader and take people to visit the area. If you’d like to get involved please email savethebosque@gmail.com.

Meet a few of our great Bosque Sentinels here.

Protect Chaco

To learn more and find out how you can help, please contact Robert Tohe, Sierra Club organizer, at robert.tohe@sierraclub.org or 928­.606.­2362; or Miya King-Flaherty at (505) 243-7767 or  miya.king-flaherty@sierraclub.org

Join our Organ Mountains­ Desert Peaks Action Team

To help protect our national monuments, Contact Camilla Feibelman at camilla.feibelman@sierraclub.org.

Have a voice in land management

To get involved in affecting land­ management decisions at Rio Grande del Norte, contact Tom Gorman at gormantd@gmail.com or 505.­438.­3932

Join the Otero Mesa Action Team

The Otero Mesa Action Team, from our El Paso Group territory, is actively participating with the BLM's Las Cruces District Office in the development of the Resource Management Plan’s Supplement that deals with gas and oil as well as identifying Lands with Wilderness Characteristics on the Mesa. Contact Jerry Kurtyka for more information on Action Team meetings and events at jerrykurtyka@hotmail.com

WILDLIFE

Join our Wildlife Team

We rally, write letters to the editor, advocate at Game Commission meetings and the Legislature and much more to protect New Mexico and West Texas wildlife. Contact Mary Katherine Ray at mkrscrim@gmail.com.

Urgent issues … act today!

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons