Northern New Mexico

About the Northern New Mexico Group

The Northern New Mexico Group is one of five regional groups within the Rio Grande Chapter of the Sierra Club.

We cover all of Northern New Mexico except for the Los Alamos area and work on projects ranging from a successful campaign to ban the plastic bag in Santa Fe to curtailing oil and gas exploration and pipelines near Chaco Canyon National Historical Park, forest health, protection of roadless areas adjacent to the Pecos Wilderness, and work for local and statewide candidates at election time.

We are also publish the 8th edition of the popular Day Hikes in the Santa Fe Area guidebook.

For outings, please visit the calendar or the Meetup group. 

Contact Us

 
Executive Committee
Chair: Teresa Seamster, 505.­466.­8964, tc.seamster@gmail.com
Vice chair: Tom Gorman, 505.­438.­3932, gormantd@gmail.com
Treasurer: Jim Baker, 505.­473­.0457, bakerjim.sw@gmail.com
Jan Cohen (Wildlife): lunatychstudio@yahoo.com
Patricia Cordona (Energy & PNM),  patriciacardona24@yahoo.com
Alice Cox (Membership): 505­.780­.5122, auntiealice@cybermesa.com
Sandrine Gaillard (Energy & Solar), sandrine.gaillard@gmail.com or www.GoSolarNowNM.info 
Jim Klukkert (Environmental Justice), 505.577.2483, jimklukkert@yahoo.com 
Paul Paryski (Water), pparyski@aol.com
Shane Woolbright (Energy & PNM), 405­.323­.2569, mesoinc@hotmail.com

Conservation
Chair: Tom Gorman
Public lands: Tom Gorman; Teresa Seamster
Water: John Buchser, 505.­231.­6645, jbuchser@comcast.net; Paul Paryski
Wildlife: Teresa Seamster; Jan Cohen
Zero Waste: Joe Eigner, joseigner@gmail.com; Karen Sweeney,  ksweeney99@comcast.net
Energy Team: Shane Woolbright, 505.­474­.2870, mesoinc@hotmail.com; Patricia Cordona; Sandrine Gaillard 

Other responsibilities
Chapter Representative: Tom Gorman
Membership: Alice Cox
Volunteers: Open
Office: Jerry Knapczyk,  jknapczyk@yahoo.com 
Outings Co-­chairs: Tobin Oruch, 505.­690.6253, tobin.oruch@yahoo.com; Alan Shapiro, 505­.424­.9242, nm5s@yahoo.com
Political: Susan Martin, 505­.988­.5206, smartin31@comcast.net
Publicity: Open
Book Sales: Janet Peacock 505­.988­.8929, sfdayhikes@gmail.com 
Sales backup: Ann Anthony, anrascal@gmail.com, 795.­7472. Book mailings: Gail Bryant, 505.­ 757­.6654
Nominating Committee: Open
Youth involvement: Open

Regional Contacts
Las Vegas: Joann Sprenger, 505.­454­.0551, gisprenger@cybermesa.com
Farmington: Art Jaquez, 505.­360­.0176, artjaquez2@gmail.com
Taos: Eric Patterson, 575­.776­.2833 eepatt@gmail.com

Header photo by Ron Reiring

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons