Pajarito – Los Alamos

About the Pajarito - Los Alamos Group

The Pajarito Group of the Sierra Club was established to protect the Valles Caldera from private developers. In 2015, the caldera was transferred to the National Park Service management, which should better protect the area. We continue to lobby for judicious management of the Valles Caldera National Preserve along with covering environmental issues in Los Alamos County and the Jemez­ Mountain area, including:

  • Reducing single-­use shopping bags in Los Alamos
  • Retaining open space
  • Working towards a sustainable Los Alamos

How you can make a difference

Join the volunteers helping to restore Bandelier trails destroyed in the Cerro Grande Fire and subsequent flooding. The work is appropriate for any age. Contact Kevin Stillman at kevin_stillman@nps.gov to get the volunteer alerts, or Jody Benson at echidnaejb@gmail.com

Letters to the editor reach thousands of people and are a great way to advocate for issues. Join our Rio Writers listserv or participate in Lunch and Learn workshops on effective letter-writing (by phone or in person). For either, contact camilla.feibelman@sierraclub.org, 505-715-8388.

Contact Us

Executive Committee

Chair/secretary: Jody Benson, echidnaejb@gmail.com, (505) 662-4782
Howard Barnumhnbarnum@aol.com
Iris Chungitlchung@hotmail.com
Michael DiRosamddbbm@gmail.com, (505) 663-0648
Nona Girardinonamg@aol.com

Committee Chairs

Treasurer: Mark JonesJonesmm1@comcast.net, (505) 662-9443
Conservation; Outings, Leadership Training: Michael DiRosamddbbm@gmail.com, (505) 663-0648
Global Warming: Charles Kelleralfanso@cybermesa.com, (505) 662-7915
Mining: David Torneydtorney@valornet.com(575) 829-3433
Newsletter Editor, Publicity, Sprawl, Transportation, Endangered Species/Wildlife: Jody Bensonechidnaejb@gmail.com(505) 662-4782
Open Spaces, Caldera Issues: Howard Barnumhnbarnun@aol.com
Water Issues: Barbara Calefbfcalef@yahoo.com(505) 662-3825

Mailing address

520 Navajo Road, Los Alamos, NM, 87544

Header photo by Mark Kaletka

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons