Strong Candidates to Promote a Safe Environment

Nothing has a bigger impact on our climate, water, land and wildlife than public policy and the people who set that policy. An important part of our nonpartisan mission is to endorse candidates for elected office and work to elect those candidates. Our endorsements and volunteer power make a real difference in elections.

Questions? Don't know when and where to vote? Don't know your district? Don't know the candidates?
We have several resources to help you through the process during an election.

  • The Rio Grande Chapter has a Voting Information page that will be updated during election cycles.
  • The Sierra Club has an Election Center that will show your district number and a candidate if the Chapter has endorsed a candidate in your district.
  • In addition to election information, the NM Secretary of State Voter Information Portal allows you to look up your registration information and status of absentee ballots.

Summary of our current endorsements

Authorized and paid for by The Rio Grande Chapter of the Sierra Club Political Action Committee, Rio Grande Sierra Club Healthy Communities, and Sierra Club Political Committee.  Not authorized by any candidate or campaign committee.

National endorsements 
US Senate: Ben Ray Luján
US House District 1: Deb Haaland
US House District 2: Xochitl Torres Small
US House District 3: Teresa Leger Fernandez
Read more

New Mexico Senate endorsements
Senate District 5: Leo Jaramillo
Senate District 8: Pete Campos
Senate District 9: Brenda McKenna
Senate District 10: Katy Duhigg
Senate District 11: Linda Lopez
Senate District 12: Gerry Ortiz y Pino
Senate District 13: Bill O’Neill
Senate District 14: Michael Padilla
Senate District 15: Daniel Ivey Soto
Senate District 16:  Antoinette Sedillo Lopez
Senate District 17: Mimi Stewart
Senate District 18: Bill Tallman
Senate District 19: Claudia Risner
Senate District 20: Martin Hickey
Senate District 21: Athena Christodoulou
Senate District 23: Harold Pope
Senate District 24: Nancy Rodriguez
Senate District 25: Peter Wirth
Senate District 26: Jacob Candelaria
Senate District 28: Siah Correa Hemphill
Senate District 29: Paul Baca
Senate District 30: Pam Cordova
Senate District 33: Denise Lang-Browne
Senate District 35: Neomi Martinez-Parra
Senate District 36: Jeff Steinborn
Senate District 38: Carrie Hamblen
Senate District 39: Liz Stefanics
Read more

New Mexico House of Representatives endorsements 
House District 5: Wonda Johnson
House District 10: Andrés Romero
House District 11: Javier Martinez
House District 12: Brittney Barreras
House District 13: Patricia Roybal Caballero
House District 14: Miguel Garcia
House District 15: Dayan Hochman Vigil
House District 17: Debbie Armstrong
House District 18: Gail Chasey
House District 19: Sheryl Williams Stapelton
House District 21:  Debbie Sarinaña
House District 22: Jessica Velasquez
House District 23: Daymon Ely
House District 24: Liz Thomson
House District 25: Christine Trujillo
House District 26: Georgene Louis
House District 27: Marian Matthews
House District 28: Melanie Stansbury
House District 29: Joy Garratt
House District 30: Natalie Figueroa
House District 31: Julie Brenning
House District 33: Micaela Cadena
House District 35: Angelica Rubio
House District 36: Nathan Small
House District 37: Joanne Ferrary
House District 38: Karen Whitlock
House District 39: Rudy Martinez
House District 40: Roger Montoya
House District 41: Susan Herrera
House District 42: Kristina Ortez
House District 43: Christine Chandler
House District 44:  Gary Tripp
House District 45: Linda Serrato
House District 46:  Andrea Romero
House District 47: Brian Egolf
House District 50:  Matthew McQueen
House District 52:  Doreen Gallegos
House District 57:  Billie Helean
House District 59: Kimble Kearns
House District 65: Derrick Lente
House District 68: Karen Bash
Read more

County endorsements
Bernalillo County Commission District 3: Adriann Barboa
Bernalillo County Commission District 4: Wende Schwingendorf
Doña Ana County Clerk: Amanda López Askin
Grant County Commission District 5: Harry Browne
Sandoval County Commission District 2: Leah Ahkee-Baczkiewicz
Sandoval County Commission District 4: Alexandra Piland
Santa Fe County Commission District 5: Hank Hughes
Santa Fe County Clerk: Katharine Clark
Valencia County Clerk: Aurora Chavez
Read more

Public Regulation Commission
PRC District 1: Cynthia Hall
PRC District 3: Joseph Maestas
Constitutional Amendment 1: In favor
Read more

Take Action

Interested in helping environmental champions get elected?

  1. Fill out our elections volunteer form
  2. Donate to Rio Grande Chapter of the Sierra Club PAC
  3. Contact our political chair, Richard Barish at richard.barish@gmail.com

Voting image used under Creative Commons license through pxfuel.com

Recent election news and endorsements

A new slate of environmental champions for New Mexico

A new slate of environmental champions for New Mexico
You elected 63 of the Sierra Club's 77 endorsed candidates. Thank you for everything you did to elect a historic slate of women and candidates of color, including the nation's second female-majority legislature and the nation's first all-woman-of-color U.S. House delegation ... Read More

Call to action: The power of the vote

Call to action: The power of the vote
The power of the vote is a tremendous tool to shape, change, and influence the destiny of America. In the 2016 general election only about 56 percent of those eligible to vote participated. Use your superpower: VOTE ... Read More

A government for us must be built by us

A government for us must be built by us
Did you know? Native Americans weren’t guaranteed voting rights until 1962. This world needs to be built by and for all of us. Vote ... Read More

Your Sierra Club recommendations in one place

Your Sierra Club recommendations in one place
Use our tool: enter your address, check your registration status, make a plan to vote, and see which Sierra Club endorsed candidates are on your ballot ... Read More