New Executive Committee members

Posted: January 2021

By Mona Blaber

The Sierra Club Rio Grande Chapter is governed by volunteer chapter and group executive committees, elected to staggered three-year (chapter) or two-year (groups) terms by chapter members.

This year’s incoming ExCom members include many familiar and new faces, bringing a wealth of experience and commitment to organizing to protect our climate, land, wildlife, water and people.

Elected to three-year terms on our chapter Executive Committee this year are incumbents Susan Martin and Ray Shortridge, as well as new ExCom member Anita Gonzales, a mom and 2020 candidate for state representative who lives in Las Vegas, N.M.

Our Central New Mexico Group members re-elected Zero Waste Chair Carol Chamberland and Peter Kelling as well as new members Terry Owen, our Outings chair, and Americans for Indian Opportunity Executive Director Laura Harris.

In the Northern New Mexico Group, new ExCom members Norman Norvelle, a former environmental scientist who worked in the coal plants; political consultant Carlos Trujillo of Chimayó; Taos Land Trust Land Conservation Committee member Joe Wells; and former Santa Fe City Councilor Chris Calvert join longtime volunteer leader and former Conservation Chair Ken Hughes.

Southern New Mexico Group members re-elected Chair Howie Dash, Wildlife Chair Mary Katherine Ray and welcomed environmental attorney David Baake and environmental consultant Ellie Naka.

Caldera Action co-founder Tom Ribe will join longtime members Jody Benson and Mark Jones on the Pajarito Group Executive Committee. Jemez Springs Zero Waste chair Peggy Froehlich has been appointed to an open seat.

Congratulations to all the new Executive Committee members, welcome, and thank you for dedicating your time and skills to creating a more equitable, just and healthy world!

New Executive Committee members